Editorial board disclosure policy

European Journal of Endocrinology Disclosure Policy

(Last updated July 2018)
All editors responsible for recommending or making publication decisions are requested to disclose on an annual basis any potential conflict of interest, including current or recent financial relationships with any commercial entity whose products or services may be contained in the journal content.
The following competing interests were disclosed:
Marianne Andersen – Prof Andersen has received non-financial support from Beyer and travel expenses from Shire.
Kare Birkeland - Prof Birkeland is employed by University of Oslo and Oslo University Hospital. He receives a yearly honorarium as Head of Medical Council, Norwegian Diabetes Association. He also receives an honorarium from Lifecare, a Norwegian company that is developing a glucose monitoring device. His employer receives research grants from the following pharmaceutical companies that I am lecturing for, participate in advisory boards with or participates in counselling activities: MSD, NovoNordisk, Lilly, Sanofi, Boehringer Ingelheim, AstraZeneca, Roche.
Cesar Luiz Boguszewski – Professor Boguszewski has received fees from Pfizer for being on the GH deficiency in adults advisory board. He has received honoraria from Novartis Oncologia, Pfizer and Ipsen for lecturing and consulting. He is a member of the editorial boards of the journals Endocrine and Archives of Endocrinology and Metabolism. He is a member of the Council of the Endocrine Society (Clinical Research Seat) and is Chair of the International Committee of the Brazilian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism (SBEM).
Martin Fassnacht – Professor Fassnacht is a member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, Hormones and Cancer, and Oncology Research and Treatment. He is also a member of the Publication Core Committee of the Endocrine Society USA (term ends in April 2018).
Laura Fugazzola – Prof Fugazzola has received personal fees from EISAI ltd and non-financial support from Sanofi-Genzyme.
Ken Ho – Professor Ho is on advisory boards and has received fees for acting so for Pfizer and Novartis. He has also received fees from Novo Nordisk and Versartis for research. He has received personal fees as a speaker from Pfizer and Ipsen. He is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of the Endocrine Society and Pituitary.
Andrea Isidori – Professor Isidori has received unrestricted research grants from Novartis and Shire. He has also received travel expenses from IPSEN. He is Associate Editor for Endocrine (Springer Nature), on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Endocrinological Investigation, on the Executive Committee of the European Academy of Andrology, is Treasurer of the International Society of Andrology, on the Boards of the Italian Society of Andrology and Medical Sexology, and on the Scientific Committee of the Italian Society of Endocrinology.
Gudmundur Johansson - Innovator and board member of TROPHEA an academic spin-off company developing treatment for steroid-induced skin atrophy. Lecture fees and grants from Novartis, Novo Nordisk, Pfizer, and Sandoz; lecture fees from Merck Serono and Otsuka; consultancy fees from Astra Zeneca and Shire. He is also a member of the ESE, Endocrine Society, Growth Hormone Research Society.
Filip Knop – Within the past 36 months, F.K.K. has received research support from Antag Therapeutics, AstraZeneca, Novo Nordisk, Sanofi and Zealand Pharma. F.K.K. is co-founder of and a minority shareholder in Antag Therapeutics. He has also has served on scientific advisory panels and/or speaker's bureaus for and/or served as a consultant to Amgen, AstraZeneca, Boehringer Ingelheim, Eli Lilly, Fractyl, Gubra, Merck Sharp & Dohme, Norgine, Novo Nordisk, Sanofi and Zealand Pharma. He has had travel expenses in connection with participation in scientific meetings and conferences being paid by AstraZeneca, Boehringer Ingelheim, Eli Lilly, Merck Sharp & Dohme, Novo Nordisk and Sanofi.
Andre Lacroix – Prof Lacroix is an Editor on the adrenal section of UpToDate and Encyclopedia of Endocrinology. He is an investigator, advisory board and steering committee clinical trials on Cushing’s syndrome with Novartis. He is an investigator Cortendo, Strongbridge clinical trials in Cushing’s syndrome. He has received speaker fees Pfizer.
Bente Langdahl – Professor Langdahl has received financial support from Amgen and Novo Nordisk to her institutional account. She has received personal fess by acting on advisory boards and giving lectures from Amgen, UCB, Eli Lilly and TEVA. She is the Editor-in-Chief of Bone Reports, and is on the editorial boards of Bone, Calcified Tissue International, Osteoporosis and Sarcopenia, and Osteoporosis International.
Juliane Léger –Prof Leger has the following conflicts of interest to declare: investigator in a clinical trial using growth hormone (GH) sponsored by Novo-Nordisk, support for travel to international meetings from several GH manufacturers (Ipsen, Mercks, Novo-Nordisk, Lilly) and fees for Ipsen pharma and Mercks for lectures.
Jenny Tong – Professor Tong is a member of the editorial board for the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism.
Jeremy Tomlinson – Professor Tomlinson has received research grants from Medical Research Council UK. He has received consultant fees from Poxel and Novonordisk. He is a member of the Editorial boards of Endocrine Connections and Journal of Steroid Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. He is also a Society for Endocrinology council and a member of clinical committee.
The following editors reported no competing interests:
  • Maria Alevizaki
  • Ernesto Canalis
  • Jose Moreno
  • Johannes Romijn
  • Taneli Raivio
  • Zhengpei Zheng
Bioscientifica staff and freelancers working on the journal reported no conflicts of interest. Article authors' declarations are stated in each journal article. Referees must disclose any competing interests before agreeing to review any submission. For more information on the journal’s ethical policy, please read the ethical guidelines.
This policy follows the recommendations of the International Committee of Medical Journals Editors (ICMJE) and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).